top of page

Seeking Solomon #2: Why do you run?

It's a question I get asked a lot.

After running close to 4,000 miles over the last three years, I finally feel comfortable answering.

I certainly have my reasons. We all do. This is by no means an exhaustive list, but these are the current reasons. Some are more important than others, but they all matter.

At first, I ran because I felt like I needed to. I was gaining weight. My knees hurt all the time. My back bothered me a little. I hadn't run for any significant distance for nearly eleven years. It was time for me to make a change. I knew that if I set some ridiculous goal and told a bunch of people, there would be pressure for me to see it through. So I did. On January 2, 2012, I decided to run the Platte River Half Marathon that April. My wife told me I was insane, but she supported the decision. My daughter still thinks I'm a lunatic. My boys think it's cool. I finished that race...eventually, and have since run more races and discovered even more reasons why I started to run in the first place and will continue to run...as long as my body allows it.

I run because...

  • I love my family and I want to make the most of our time together. They deserve a man in their lives who is strong and healthy and will do what it takes to be a proper role model.

  • I am built to move. So move I must.

  • I feel strong at the thought of working out, in the middle of the workout (that wasn't always the case!), and strong when I'm done, no matter the distance I cover.

  • My knees hurt no longer. At all.

  • When I run, I make better dietary decisions. I still eat wonderful food, but my body's mechanisms that tell me when I've had enough are better in control than before.

  • I love the prospect of finding a new trail. It's an adventure!

  • My wife likes the way I look. I was surprised at first by how powerful a motivator this is.

  • Running provides balance and perspective on the rest of my life.

  • It is a time to let my mind wander and work through problems from the day. Sometimes I come up with my best ideas when I'm not focused on them.

  • It is a great time to check out new music...and rediscover my old faves.

  • I am continually impressed by the beauty and grandeur of our state. I am sad, though, that it took this long to get my happy ass out the door to see it. The trails are unlike anything I have known and anytime I remember to take pictures, I am disappointed by how poorly they reflect what I experienced first-hand.

  • While road running is definitely more convenient, I am drawn more and more to the trails just a few miles from home. It is here that I feel closer to God.

  • I have become more of a real role model for my family. My wife and kids are now interested in the sport and we finally ran our first official 'race' together. Even on my long runs, everyone can tag along on their bikes and we get much more time together NOT in front of the television.

  • Guilt-free holiday eating.

  • The competitor in me wants to go farther and faster just to see if I can. That means more trails which means a stronger body which means all the rest of the above is intensified and improved.

Well, that's the list so far.

I love the running community. It's competitive by open and welcoming also. There's always someone to cheer you on during that final kick or encourage you when you feel ready to fall on your face. We all get that unless you have God's gift of natural-born running talent (which is not me!), the one you're competing against is the one looking back at you in the mirror.

I look around me and I see a decaying culture...dumber...fatter...less inclined to challenge ourselves...more likely to look for the easy way out. Running represents everything I want out of life. To achieve something great, not in spite of the difficulty, but in part, because of it. I want to fight the inertia of a spoiled society.

Even though distance running is gaining in popularity and participation, as a culture, I see us getting soft. Public debate is more about spin than substance. Facts can be manipulated to justify almost any course of action. Running is pure. Manipulation isn't possible. If you work at it, we will see the results. If you don't show improvement, there will be only one reason. When you put enough time in you WILL be successful. If your body won't let you run, there are alternative activities (cycling, ellipticals, swimming, yoga, whatever) You may not be the victor coming over the top of Heartbreak Hill, but you will achieve something great. And we need more of that.

Last year I trained for and ran two ultra-marathons, a 50K, and the North Face 50 Miler in Park City. I NEVER thought I would seriously consider running somewhere for 12 hours, but the challenge was too tempting, the achievement of that distance too rewarding, and the scenery to awesome to pass it up.

When I get that initial question when my running comes up (and trust me, I don't foist it on anyone), I don't recite this litany of reasons. I talk about how good it is for me and that I like being outdoors. I talk about the amazing trails and running as a family. But I really want to reply with: "Why don't you?"

White Tank Mtns, AZ
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page