top of page

Seeking Solomon #4: Just put your shoes on and get outside!


As we kicked off another amazing year in the land of the Scarlet and Silver, I perform my annual ritual of pouring through last year's notes purging all the things I know I won't need this year.

Inevitably, I find a list of ridiculous goals for the year and just as inevitably, they remain un-achieved, just words on a page. Life gets in the way, and like so many things we "want" to do, we don't do them...

With the addition of Academic Workshop to my workload (I'm super-psyched by the way!), I remain as optimistic as ever about this year's goals: Hiking a 14er, learning how to texture drywall, plant a garden (actually, that's my wife's goal :-))

The lesson I should be applying, though, when it comes to these type of goals, I learned from my marathon training: "Just get out there. the workout will take care of itself."

I think that is the big holdup for many of us. We just don't. Sure there are days I don't want to run, but if I can get my shoes on and get out the door, the miles always add up, sometimes in spite of my efforts to get in the way.

So here I am, actually planning our 14er trip, actually studying drywall technique, discussing what will go in the garden (just kidding, I'll leave the garden out of this). We had a pretty successful summer around the house and I like the momentum we've generated, simply by getting out and starting the project. So quit worrying about why you can't do something and make a plan to do it.

Have a great year!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page